Thursday 11th September starts with a bang with an amazing variety of places to see from the medieval Beauchief Abbey founded in 1183 to a rooftop view of Sheffield from Hallam’s University’s Owen Tower. Here’s our brief guide to venues. For times and dates check out our events calendar or http://www.heritageopendays.org.uk/
Shrewsbury Hospital Just across from the Cholera Monument this is a quiet and usually private enclave. HOD gives people a rare glimpse into the Hospital Chapel.
Founded in 1183 it is hard to believe that Beuachief covered a large area of Derbyshire and were given the ancient churches of St James Norton and St John the Baptist Dronfield as well as properties in Chesterfield.
Grenoside Reading Room
Recently loving restored by the Grenoside Community as part of their claiming Grenoside’s unique history. Built around 1790 as a School room. Grenoside are holding a great weekend of events including a look into the recently grade 2 listed crucible forge in a cellar and life in WW1
Built in the 12th century probably around 1170 the same time as her sister church St Mary the Virgin in Handsworth by William de Lovetot Lord of both manors. The Church of St Peter as it was then called was a parish church for Sheffield Manor. The church mirrors the changes in fortune both of it and the city within its walls. The Cathedral is putting on a guided walk to assist the visitor in interpreting these changes.
City Hall Barkers Pool
Although it only took 4 years to build the City Hall took 14 years from acquisition of the land in 1919 till it was opened in 1932. The architect was the prestigious Vincent E Harris. The Hall is now host to over 750 events a year. Visitors are given a rare chance to tour the building and learn the stories behind it all.
There once was 400 water wheels on the waterways of Sheffield, running Hammers, furnaces and grinding shops like the one at Shepherd Wheel. In 1954 Sheffield Council listed 17 wheels that should be preserved for posterity. Today only 3 wheels are left and only Shepherd Wheel is able to run. In the 1920s it was the show stopper for visitors to see how old fashioned grinders made flat steel into razor sharp knives.
Weston Park Museum (itself an interesting heritage building) is hosting a hand on event where people will get the chance to handle a range of old objects and learn their history
Home to the Company of Cutlers of Hallamshire it is the 3rd Cutlers Hall on this site. Built in 1832 it was later altered in 1865 and again in 1888. The building is Tardis Like in that the extent of the building is not obvious from the size of its frontage.
Sheffield Town Hall is a grade 1 listed building. Sheffield’s 4th Town Hall and the first to separate itself from the law courts. It took 7 years to build and was opened by remote control by Queen Victoria, who never left her carriage, in 1897.
Manor Lodge was the Earl of Talbot’s Summer residence. A huge palatial complex which has now largely gone except for the ruins of the Lodge and the magnificent Banqueting Tower. Besides its Tudor connections with Mary Queen of Scots who lived a great proportion of her life under the control of the Earl of Shrewsbury as her jailer, there is also farms that developed after the Talbots divided the old Deer Park into farms. Manor Lodge has been restoring the farmhouses and putting the land back as Living History Farms. Together with the craft studios and the prestigious cafe The Rhubarb Shed there is a lot more to Manor Lodge these days.
Portland Works was built in 1865 and has been in continuous work ever since. Not a museum but a living breathing commercial works where some of the old fast disappearing but vital skills of silver plating, stamp making, engraving and cutlery. It was here that the first ever stainless steel cutlery was produced.
Formerly a Non-conformist Chapel Underbank Chapel is 1 of 3 Non-Conformist church which became Unitarian. Built in 1752 to replace a converted barn which had housed the Non-conformist from 1652. It is about a beautiful chapel in a tranquil setting.
Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet. Open as a Museum since 1970 Abbeydale Hamlet has been continually improving and renovating this unique historic site. After many trials and tribulations some outstanding work has been carried out on the large wheel, new displays and a brand new visitor centre built to provide 21st century facilities has been built back from the ancient buildings so that the site is now opened up as never before in the Museum’s history.
St Marie Catholic Cathedral
St Marie Catholic Cathedral. Built in 1846 in the style of an ancient Lincolnshire Church. It was built by C M E Hadfield whose face is said to be on one of the heads carved in the adjoining Church House. The Cathedral has recently been in the midst of renovations. There is now a chance to walk through and examine the changes and the beautiful stane glass windows.
In addition to the project investigating the history and archaeology of Tinsley Manor which has been going some time there is now the launch of the translation and interpretation of the Tinsley Manor Rolls/Documents. This is an exciting project which will set up a new academic resource for students and enthusiasts studying the medieval history of Sheffield.
Built in 1934 by W G Davies, it is a fine example of the Art Deco style yet strangely complementary to the adjoining Victorian Lyceum. The Library are offering a tour of this unique building from Top to bottom looking at its history and its present.
Horn Handle Works
Horn Handle Works/ now Regather. Built in 1897 for the manufacturer of Horn Handles for umbrellas it is unique part of Sheffield’s history that is barely without trace today. Horn was used prolifically in making buttons, handles, and combs. An exhibition of the works history to its re-incarnation as the Regather cooperative is available.
Butchers Works/Freeman College
Freeman College is composed of the old Sterling Works and the Butchers Works. The Sterling Works dates from the 1850s and the Butcher Works which grew on the site from 1810 but is mainly 1835. Freeman College provides day and residential education and care in Sheffield and South Yorkshire for young people with special educational needs and disabilities. Students are guides and demonstrators during the day; visitors welcome to try spoon forging, weaving & felting, suitable for children. Craft items on sale in the Ruskin Arts & Crafts shop. Organic Fusion café provides locally sourced home cooked meals.
Midhopestones is a hamlet, in the north west of Sheffield. St James’ is a tiny rugged church, surrounded by a picturesque graveyard. The foundations were laid around 1360 by the Barnby family. Guided round walk looking at history and heritage of the village, including access to the church and other buildings of interest. Approximately 2 hours.
St Mary the Virgin Handsworth
St Mary the Virgin, built in 1170 by William de Lovetot the history of the area goes back to Bronze Age. Your Chance to look inside this ancient church and also to see the lovely Georgian Vicarage which hides a tudor framework.
Wincobank non denominational Chapel
Visit the unique Undenominational Chapel built in 1841 as a school then extended in 1905 as a chapel. Learn about the history of the philanthropist Read family from Wincobank Hall, who had a lasting impact through their campaigns for social justice and Mary Anne Rawson, a tireless campaigner for the universal abolition of slavery. Join a guided walk up to Wincobank Iron Age Hillfort and enjoy spectacular views across Sheffield
Built in 1700 the Upper Chapel brought together many free thinkers and non conformists. Your chance to view the Henry Holliday stained glass windows and magnificent painted ceiling in the first non-conformist Chapel in Sheffield Admire the bronze statues sculptured by Fullard in the forecourt. Appreciate the Victorian interior of Channing Hall with its painted bricks and magnificent wooden ceiling.
Built in 1857 as an overspill cemetery for St Phillips Church Wardsend Cemetery is a tranquil place near the River Don in Owlerton. Two 90-minute tours of the historic North Sheffield Cemetery, following the main paths. Visitors will hear of the history and all other aspects of the cemetery and the surrounding area, mainly from Victorian era but going back much further with reference to surrounding area
Wisteria Cottage Nether Edge 1765
Nether Edge Historical Walk.
A 2.5 hours’ walk around Nether Edge village, Brincliffe and Kenwood led by members of the Nether Edge History Group. Although the area is now mainly suburban, we’ll explore the history of the area including a house built about 1605, remnants of several farms, the 1845 Ecclesall Brierlow Workhouse.
Firth Park Clock Tower
There will be photographs and information on the official opening of Firth Park Heritage Park, the first public park in Sheffield in 1875 by the then Prince of Wales, later King Edward 7th. Lots of books, photographs and literature of the surrounding area, including the Old Library’s opening ceremony in the 1930’s
Park Hill Flats
Opened in the Early 1960s Park Hill flats were built as an innovative way to replace the previous slums. The Park Hill estate is the largest Grade II* listed building in the country and comprises approximately 1000 units of council housing. It is currently being cleared to allow a major refurbishment of the flats, which will change the tenure mix and redevelop the whole site. Work is now completed on the first Flank within Phase 1.
Firth Court Western Park
Firth Court is a Grade II listed building and it was built in 1905. Guided tours of the Chancellor’s Room, Firth Hall and the University WW1 Memorial within Firth Court will be available.
General Cemetery Egyptian Gate
General Cemetery opened in 1836 as a commercial concern offering an alternative to the overcrowded churchyards. 2014 marks the start of an exciting project to restore the Grade II* listed Non-Conformist Chapel at Sheffield General Cemetery. This Heritage Open Day visitors will have the chance to go behind the scenes and discover how the chapel is being restored. Guided tours throughout the day will introduce you to some of the cemetery’s famous residents
Whitham Road Spiritual Church
Previously a Swedenborgian Church, the Spiritualist Congregation moved into Whitham road from Meersbrook in 1943. The Spiritualist Church in Sheffield celebrated its centenary last year.
Old theatre Bill
Sheffield’s early theatres all stood within a few hundred metres of Tudor Square. With tales of the architects, theatre managers and the stars that trod the boards. Tales of actors and directors including the larger than life actor-manager Donald Wolfitt Bookings Roy Rogers 01142 683697 or firstname.lastname@example.org. People turning up on the day, will be accommodated if there is room. Limit 18 per tour. meet across from Lyceum
Sheffield Student Union
Attendees are invited to take a guided tour of the building led by Student Ambassadors. The tours will last approximately 25 minutes visiting: The Plaza, The Hub, New Leaf, Garden View, The Activities Zone, Officers’ Corridor, The Interval, Gardens, Bar One, The Foundry, Studio, Fusion then returning to the Plaza. Everyone taking in the tour will be given a copy of “Standing up for Students” by Helen Mathers and a voucher to spend in Coffee Revolution after the tour.
St Marks Broomhill
The interior of the original Victorian church was destroyed by bombing during WW2 and the church did not reopen for worship until 1963. The new interior, designed by the architect George Pace, is open, light filled and peaceful. The east ‘Te Deum’ window, designed by Henry Stammers, and the west window, depicting the tongues of fire of the Holy Spirit and designed by John Piper, are particularly worth noting.
St. Cuthbert’s Church Firvale
Built in 1904 by John Dodsley Webster and Sons, a grade 2 listed. History of church and wonderful stained glass windows. Games for children . refreshments .
Rivelin Valley Park
From the 16th to 20th centuries this three-mile stretch of river valley, with its 20 water mills and 21 dams (possibly the most concentrated number over that distance in the country) supported industries ranging from cutlery grinding workshops and tilt forges to paper mills and corn mills, and including the world-famous Mousehole Forge anvils
Old Anns Grove School. Displays by Heeley History Workshop and Heeley Development Trust. Tours of the Buildings. opportunities to share memories and show support for our ongoing fundraising to restore the remaining buildings. The building is safe and accessible, everybody is welcome, we have no specific activities for children or families
There has been a muslim community in England since the early 18th century, but it was in the late 19th century that there were any substantial numbers usually in the ports. The encouragement of commonwealth citizens to work in Britain brought in many more from Pakistan India as well as a strong Somali community. Purpose built mosques are rare. A guided tour of Madina Mosque which will incorporate the key architectural features of the mosque, explanation of how the building is used for daily prayers, children’s education, Eid and funerals.
Heritage Walk taking us around the streets of Broomhall, learning about its hidden past and interesting characters, past and present Event not suitable for children under the age of 10.
Cruck Barn Concord Park
Cruck Barn,Concord Park, Medieval Hamlet Oaks Fold dates back 12thc Barn probably early 16thc. . Grade 2 listed. The Cruck Barn and the adjacent restored farmhouse. The Cruck barn will be open to view and information leaflets will be available.
Built in 1860 for Sir John Brown. Grade 2* listed. It was the biggest mansion in Sheffield built to impress his customers and visiting dignitaries. After John Brown’s death the hall fell empty due to its huge size. In 1914 the Territorials took it over and it has remained in their ownership ever since.
Shri Guru Gobind Singh Ji Gurdwara
The first Sikh communities settled in England in 1911. A guided tour with the opportunity to ask questions, giving visitors a chance to learn about the history and practice of Sikhism.
As part of their 180th Anniversary celebrations, Hadfield Cawkwell Davidson (www.hcd.co.uk) invite you to join us for a walking tour of Sheffield. Guided by local historian, Ron Clayton
the Electric Works caused a bit of a stir with a rather unusual feature in reception… a huge helter-skelter. It’s fair to say five years on, it hasn’t lost its charm, and our clients still regularly use it. Of course we’re more than just a slide. Electric Works is a unique and creative office space housing some of the region’s most exciting companies, from animators to games developers to film makers. Not normally open to the general public, we’re pleased to be opening our doors (and slide!) as part of Heritage Open Days to showcase this fantastic building with short tours.
St Lawrence Tinsley
Discover Tinsley’s historic St Lawrence Church. There has been a church on this site, since the 12th Century! Find out about the history of the current building and the fascinating history of the site
BBC Radio Sheffield is the BBC Local Radio station broadcasting to South Yorkshire and North Derbyshire, on Shoreham Street in Sheffield. Started in 1967. Their studios are rarely open
Explore the vicinity of Sheffield’s lost castle and associated sites to learn about the castle’s history – legends – excavations – remains and proposals for its future with professional Sheffielder, raconteur, local author, historic tour guide, and character big Ron Clayton
St John Baptist Wales
St John the Baptist Wales are holding a flower festival with the theme of Weddings and Anniversaries. The original Church was constructed in Norman times. The tower was constructed in the 15th century and in 1897 a nave and south aisle were added.
St John the Evangelist Hoylandswaine
St Johns is a small Grade II listed Victorian Church with a recently-uncovered wall painting around the East Window by the renowned Pre-Raphaelite artist, John Roddam Spencer Stanhope of Cawthorne. The painting was whitewashed over in the 1960s as a result of water damage, but has recently been uncovered and successfully conserved
St John Throapham
The church is Saxon/Norman in origin with additions in the 1200s,1400s and early 1700s, with important monuments and memorials. There will be an exhibition entitled Faith in Words and Images. It is suitable for all ages.
This is a unique opportunity to see the City of Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam University’s City Campus from the 12th floor rooftop of our Owen Building in the heart of the City. We will give you tour of the campus from the rooftop with information about the history of the University buildings
History of the Medical School and World War One. This fascinating exhibition will cover the help given by Sheffield Medics during World War I.
St Leonards Dinnington
St Leonard’s is an 18th century church built on the site of a much earlier building. The first church in Dinnington was recorded in 1088. This original church was destroyed by fire around 1318. It is unknown when the church was rebuilt but it is recorded that by the 1780’s this second church was in a poor state and demolished in 1785. Robert Athorpe, a local landowner, built the present Church in 1868.
William Layne Reading Room
Display of local history documents, maps and photographs. Albums of photographs, maps and documents for visitors to browse. Information about local fatalities in the First and Second World War.